CALL FOR PAPERS

Special Section on Software Reliability Engineering

The IEICE Transactions on Fundamentals of Electronics, Communications and Computer Sciences (A) and Transactions on Information and Systems (D) announce forthcoming Joint Special Section on Software Reliability Engineering to be published in **September**, 2012. The Software Reliability is regarded as the most important fundamental technology in our highly information oriented society. In IEICE, both Engineering Sciences Society and Information and Systems Society focus on the advanced topics on Software Reliability Engineering from the different points of view on theory and empirical research. This special section aims at publishing high quality papers submitted from all over the world, and disseminating jointly recent advances in the research field of Software Reliability Engineering. Submission of the papers at ISSRE 2011 (Dec. 14-17, Tokyo) and IWSM/MENSURA 2011 (See http://mensura.wordpress.com/) is strongly encouraged, but is not mandatory for its inclusion in this joint Special Section. The original papers in the following areas are generally invited for submission.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Theoretical and empirical researches in Software Reliability Engineering.

Submission Guidelines:

Authors are requested to follow the submission process described below.

- 1. Submit papers using the IEICE online submission web site https://review.ieice.org/regist_e.aspx by **December 10, 2011**. Choose the "[Special-EA] Joint Special Section on Software Reliability Engineering" or "[Special-ED] Joint Special Section on Software Reliability Engineering" as a "Type of Issue (Section) /Transactions" on the online submission page. Do not choose "[Regular-EA]", "[Regular-ED]" or other special sections. We accept papers only in PDF format. Although the authors have an option to select one of two transactions, we encourage that the theoretical papers and empirical papers with the real project data will be submitted to [Special-EA] and [Special-ED], respectively.
- 2. Send the "Copyright Transfer and Page Charge Agreement" and the "Confirmation Sheet of Manuscript Registration" by E-mail, FAX, or postal mail by **December 16, 2011** to

Professor Mitsuhiro Kimura, Industrial & Systems Eng., Hosei University, 3-7-2 Kajinocho, Koganei, 184-8584 Japan

E-mail: kim@hosei.ac.jp, Phone: +81.42.387.6345, FAX: +81.42.387.6126

Note that unless these forms reach the editor, the review process never starts even if the manuscript is submitted.

Manuscripts should be prepared according to the style guidelines for the IEICE Transactions (See http://www.ieice.org/eng/shiori/mokuji_ess.html). In this special section, the length of the manuscript should be no longer than eight printed pages for a PAPER and two printed pages for a LETTER. Submissions that do not follow the above instructions will not be accepted. The term for revision after the review process might be shortened, although it is usually 60 days' long. Some papers may appear in the following transactions, if the number of accepted papers exceeds the limit. At least one of the authors must be an IEICE member when the manuscript is submitted for review. Please note that if accepted, authors are requested to pay for the page charges covering partial costs of publications.

Special Section Editorial Committee:

Guest Editors-in-Chief: Tadashi Dohi (Hiroshima Univ.)

Guest Secretary: Mitsuhiro Kimura (Hosei Univ.), Kenichi Matsumoto (NAIST)

Guest Associate Editors: Hirohisa Aman (Ehime Univ.), Hiroyuki Okamura (Hiroshima Univ.), Tetsuro Katayama

(Miyazaki Univ.), Kenichi Kourai (KIT), Kenji Kono (Keio Univ.), Shinji Kusumoto

(Osaka Univ.), Naoto Sato (IBM Research Tokyo), Kazuyuki Shima (Hiroshima City Univ.)

Juichi Takahashi (Sony), Yoshinobu Tamura (Yamaguchi Univ.), Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya (Osaka Univ.)

Kouichi Tokuno (Tottori Univ.), Haruka Nakao (JAMSS), Masahide Nakamura (Kobe Univ.)

Satoshi Fukumoto (Tokyo Metropolitan Univ.), Takaji Fujiwara (Biz3), Takashi Minohara

(Takushoku Univ.), Osamu Mizuno (Kyoto Institute. Tech.), Akito Monden (NAIST), Tetsushi Yuge

(National Defense Academy)